Scholarships & Funding

Applications for the 2021 DAAD In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Programme for Eastern Africa is now open!

This programme is open to individual Master and PhD students in the Sub-Saharan Africa region who wish to study either in their home countries or at selected host institutions in other African countries. The programme is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and aims at university staff in the first line, without neglecting the public sector demand for academically trained personnel.   

For this region, the scholarship is open to citizens and permanent residents of sub-Saharan Africa to study in selected institutions in Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Ethiopia and Sudan. More details on the scholarship can be found here. 

The deadline for application is 15 December 2020.

For further information, one can contact the In-Country/In-Region team on  or per telephone on 0733 929 929.

The DAAD will be conducting Web seminars from Thursday, 29 October 2020 and the very final one on 09 December 2020 from 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm EAT. The links to join in the Web seminars for next couple of weeks can be found here:

Thursday, 29 October 2020 from 2:00 pm -3:00 pm EAT:
Tuesday, 03 November 2020 from 2:00 pm -3:00 pm EAT:
Thursday, 05 November 2020 from 2:00 pm -3:00 pm EAT: 

Please see the attached flyer for the event schedule of the web seminars. 

Also, on offer are virtual visiting hours every Thursday from 10 am - 11 am EAT.  To visit, please register at