The Institute takes pride in being the oldest Institute for Development Studies out of 20 such institutes world-wide. This pride is demonstrated in IDS’s record of having hosted several Nobel Laureates and world renowned scholars during their early years of growth to excellence. Our great alumni include James Tobin, winner of Nobel Prize in Economics (1981); Joseph Stiglitz, Winner of Nobel Prize in Economics (2000); Michael Todaro, the development economist who authored the Todaro Migration Model; James Coleman, a world-renowned socialist; Jean E. Ensmingerand Angelique Haugerud,  distinguished anthropologists;  Raphael Kaplinsky,  an established professor of international development; and Robert Chambers

CLICK HERE to visit IDS.